Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Why My Tweeps Rock: 3rd Grade Read Alouds

5 Comments

Ok, there are SO MANY ways in which my tweeps rock. For reals, if any librarian or aspiring librarian asked me what ONE thing they should do professionally I’d say “Get active on twitter.”  So many fabulous people to meet and great brains to tap.

Tuesday I was stumped for 3rd grade read alouds. I mean stumped. The only titles that popped into my head were checked out (and not really exciting me anyway-Alexander by Viorst and Strega Nona by DePaola, True Story of the Three Little Pigs (that one excited me but it was gone)).

So, I turned to twitter.

My plea for help

What’s your favorite story to read to 3rd graders? Having a mental jam.

Guess how many replies I got? 12 librarians. With 30 different title suggestions! In half a day! Amazing!

These are the titles they suggested, in case you ever find yourself needing them (in no particular order):

The Stupids by Harry Allard

The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka (like Fresca!)

Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg

Vote For Me! by Ben Clanton

Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great by Bob Shea (who is also on twitter and really funny)

Crankee Doodle (3 people suggested this one!) by Tom Angleberger

I Scream, Ice Cream by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

The Dark by Lemony Snicket

Crankenstein by Samantha Berger

Pancakes for Supper by Anne Isaacs

Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett

Henry Hikes to Fitchburg by D.B. Johnson (We had this one, hooray! They loved it, hooray!)

Let’s Do Nothing by Tony Fucile

If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano

Library Lion by Michelle Knudsen

Mailing May by Michael O. Tunnell

Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon

Thank You, Sarah: The Woman Who Saved Thanksgiving by Laurie Halse Anderson

The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Owen and Mzee by Isabella Hatkoff (book talked it-it was too long for my tastes, but they liked looking at it)

The Dirty Cowboy by Andy Timberlake

Strega Nona by Tomie dePaola

The Incredible Book Eating Boy by Oliver Jeffers

Something From Nothing by Phoebe Gilman

Guess Again by Mac Barnett (Had it, read it, they LOVED it!)

The Wolf Who Cried Boy by Bob Hartman

Hip and Hop, Don’t Stop by Jef Czekaj

When Dinosaurs Came With Everything by Elise Broach

Fine, Fine School by Sharon Creech

Once Upon a Cool Motorcycle Dude by Kevin O’Malley

Thank you Mary, Nicole, Emily, Brooke, Marge, Sarah, Ms. Lizzie Anne, Melissa, Angie, Liz, Heather, and Annie for your suggestions!!

Moral of the story: get on twitter and make some friends. You won’t be sorry. Also, don’t procrastinate like me. It’s bad.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

5 thoughts on “Why My Tweeps Rock: 3rd Grade Read Alouds

  1. Billy Twitters and the Big Whale Problem, Double Trouble in Walla Walla, Squeaky Door, Who is Melvin Bubble, Do Not Open This Book are just a few of my favorites.

  2. I go with ‘once upon a cool motorcycle dude’!

  3. Maybe Leila or Grace would enjoy these; I’ll forward in case they didn’t get the note.

    • Leila for sure and some might be great for Grace but others a little too long and boring for her active brain. Thanks for forwarding to them.

Leave a Reply

