Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Pork Chops

Leave a comment

We had such an amazing day, my menu for the evening was comfort food to reflect that wonderful day. We had a lovely breakfast out, took a long walk in the dog park with Sierra, went grocery shopping, cleaned up the front and back yards, and took a second walk around the neighborhood to take advantage of every drop of sunshine we could. Then we hurried inside so I could get cooking.

For dinner I decided on Italian Breaded Pork Chops. I’ve only made pork of any kind a couple of times, and never breaded so this was definitely new to me. As with every new dish I start, I make sure to give myself lots of time to muddle through the recipe. This dish is so easy, there was no muddling. 

So good we forgot to take a picture until it was almost gone!

To start with, I modified the heck out of the recipe linked above. I used only 2 pork chops, and therefore half the other ingredients. You can make your own Italian breadcrumbs if you don’t have them by using regular breadcrumbs, or Panko, and adding about 1/4 tsp of each of the following spices: parsley flakes, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, sugar, plus a dash of oregano. The recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of breadcrumbs-this is way too much and you will waste a ton of breading! For 2 chops use about 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs.  Use one egg and about 1 Tbsp of milk for dipping. After browning the garlic I set the cloves in a bowl and placed them on top of the browned chops before I put them in the oven. We never waste garlic in this house! 

After browning the chops in the pan, I moved them to a warm casserole dish to continue cooking in a preheated oven. They cooked for about 15 minutes and were prefect-right at 160 degrees. To me, plain breaded pork chops sounded a little dry. So, I decided to make some red sauce to put on top. One small can of tomato sauce, oregano, basil, pepper, garlic powder to taste, and you have a pretty darn good marinara sauce. Usually I add a tsp of brown sugar (that idea came from by best friend-thanks Mel!) to tomato sauce, but laziness took over and the brown sugar didn’t make it out of the cupboard.  It was pretty good without it, though. The whole meal took maybe 30 minutes. Definitely a good one for nights when you don’t feel like going into a lot of prep.

Stay tuned for fudgy brownies. They’re in the oven now-if they taste half as good as they smell we may be up all night on a sugar high!

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Leave a Reply

