Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Chocolate Cookies-first made up recipe!

Leave a comment

Last night I got really brave. I was going to use that bravery to cut my hair off, but no salons in Vancouver had openings. So, I decided to create my own cookie recipe instead. It seems like all the chocolate cookie recipes I try turn out too soft and caky for my tastes. I want a nice, crisp chocolate cookie. After I mixed my batter and it tasted good I did a test bake. They came out a little flat, although if I had made them smaller they would have been perfect for biscuit-like cookies. So I added a little more flour and tried again. Success!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie

Recipe:

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

2/3 cup butter, softened

1 egg

Mix these ingredients in a mixer or a bowl with a wooden spoon.

Add:

1/4 cup baking cocoa

1 1/3 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix until all dry ingredients are completely incorporated. If you want plain chocolate cookies you can drop spoonfuls on a cookie sheet now. You can also add chocolate chips, or anything else you like and then put them on the cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes at 375.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Leave a Reply

