Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Dog’s Colorful Day for Flannel Friday

6 Comments

Okay, I know this has been done a gazillion times, but I saw this version on an ALSC blog and had to make it for special needs storytime.  It’s super easy to make, and I think the kids will really like being able to put the dots on themselves.  I used those velcro dots that are sticky on one side and velcro on the other to mark where the dots go. The dots are just felt and the kids will just stick their dot on a velcro dot when we get to their color in the story.

See this in action here: http://www.cmlibrary.org/programs/special_needs/default.asp The second video.

When I do this in preschool storytime I put the dots on while reading the story. This way the kids are involved in the story more. I’ve made an extra set of dots so more than 10 children can participate.

To make it more sturdy I’m going to put magnet tape on the back and stick it to a cookie sheet so I can carry it around to non-mobile kids to place their dots.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

6 thoughts on “Dog’s Colorful Day for Flannel Friday

  1. Welcome aboard! I love the tip about putting this on a cookie sheet and using laminated paper instead of felt…great way to make it easy to share with the kids. Thank you!

  2. Welcome to Flannel Friday! Let me second how wonderful an idea it is to make this a magnet board. 🙂

  3. Welcome to Flannel Friday! I think this is a great way to use this story; and I love the idea of making it a magnet board so that everyone can participate!

  4. This is a great idea! I have at least one wheel chair bound child at storytimes who would love this!

  5. Pingback: Happy Anniversary, Flannel Friday! | storytime katie

Leave a Reply

