Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Flannel Friday: Drat that Fat Cat

5 Comments

This has long been one of my favorite storytime books and I’ve always thought it would make a great flannel. So, here’s my take on that. I’m no artist but I don’t think the kids will mind. The mouse and bee are borrowed from already made flannel kits and the others are just die cuts with my accessories. Like my attempt to make the little girl look like an old lady? Honestly, the old lady in the book is quite fashionable so it’s not far off (she even has bun pig tails). I’d like to get some more stripes on fat cat, but I’ll have to figure that out later (did I mention I’m not an artist?).

And now for their “closeups”. Our department camera is missing so you get the pleasure of seeing my crappy iPhone pics. The duck is actually a different color than the old lady. I swear.

Check out the roundup at Miss Mary Liberry.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

5 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Drat that Fat Cat

  1. Oh my gosh, I love your old lady! The hair is fabulous!

  2. She’s a feisty looking old lady! I’m any grandparents in your audience would appreciate her trendy look.

  3. Missed out the word sure earlier – silly me!

  4. How did I miss this? It’s great!

Leave a Reply

