Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Baby Storytime! Baby Goes Beep

Leave a comment

Alright! The new 9:30 time is starting to have a core group. There were 6 babies this time and 3 of them had been more than once. That’s a start, people.

The great thing about a small group is I can do rhymes and activities that are hard to do with more than about 25 people in the room. So today I took advantage of the small group and pulled out the parachute. So much fun! Believe it, or not, but this was the first time I’d ever used a parachute in storytime. I’ve used it in other ways and venues, but never in the library. And I’ve been itching to use it for way too long.

You can find the words to the songs and rhymes I use often on the Rhymes page (unless they are so common I didn’t think you’d need the words).

Today’s outline (just so you know, I don’t actually start with an outline-I’m just writing down what I actually ended up doing):

If You’re Happy and You Know It

 

Noble Duke of York

 

These are baby’s fingers

 

Andy Pandy, Sugar and Candy

 

Read Baby Goes Beep

 

Rock the Baby

 

Scarves: Where is Baby?

 

Scarves: Mix the pancake

 

Shakers: Shake My Sillies Out by Raffi

 

Shakers: Going to Kentucky

 

Parachute: These are the Colors Over You

I used our small chute since the group was small and we held it over the babies, gently lifting it up and down with the rhythm. They LOVED it so I will be doing this more often-it might replace the scarves for a while.

 

Icky Bicky Soda Cracker

 

Goodbye Bubbles

 

Bubbles with Splish Splash by Bobby Darin playing

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Leave a Reply

