Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Toddler Storytime: Transportation (and painting with cars!)

Leave a comment

One of my fellow coworkers had the idea to have toddlers dip cars in paint and make tracks on paper with them. She left before getting to do the activity at our library but I like the idea so much I used it for today’s storytime.

Today was all about things that go so we read Toot Toot Beep Beep by Emma Garcia, A Truck Goes Rattley-Bumpa by Jonathan London and closed with The Seals on the Bus by Lenny Hort (I didn’t do the whole book since it’s a little long and I used it at the end). We sang Wheels on the Bus (of course), Going to Kentucky (with shakers) and Alabama, Mississippi by Jim Gill (with shakers). Basically, we toured the United States in cars, trucks, and buses. And then got messy!

We headed to the craft tables which I had covered in yellow butcher paper. We have lots of plastic vehicles (pretty sure they came from Lakeshore Learning) so I put them in bins on the tables. For the first group I needed to be able to clean up quickly so I put out jumbo washable ink stamp pads for them to dip the cars on and then roll on the paper. It looked like this:

 

 For the second group I pulled out the finger paint. I just scooped a little blue and purple in to 4 trays (we use those black trays you get in microwaveable dinners-great for arts activities, free, and recycling!) and put those on the tables with the vehicles. Since I put yellow paper down and blue paint they were able to make some awesome green. No, I didn’t plan that, but sure wish I had! It was really cool to talk about, though. Here’s what the finger paint session looked like:

They really enjoyed themselves and I wished the first group could have done the finger painting, too. Next time I’ll ask a coworker for clean up/set up assistance between sessions.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Leave a Reply

