Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Baby Storytime: Back in the Groove

3 Comments

Wow, I feel like a new person all over again. FINALLY, a totally successful storytime. I’ve been waiting for the babies from my predecessor’s storytime to get older or forget (their parents, not them) about her style (cuz I’m just not doing it that way, no matter how mean you are to me!). It finally happened. All the participants today were those who only know me and my style, or there were new ones. AND, dropping the age on the publications worked. Baby storytime was previously advertised for 0-18 months, but I wanted a storytime for the non-walkers so the age was dropped to 0-12 months. Now there are 3, 4 and 5 month olds which was never happening before! YAY!

 

To get off on an even better foot this Fall, I started each session with “Welcome to the fall session of baby storytime for babies birth to 12 months and their grown up laps. I’m going to come around with name tags to help me out and so you can get to know each other a little better. When you come next week the name tags will be on the table for you to fill out yourself. (did name tags) Ok, now my name is Kendra and let’s get started with some bubbles! This is a repeat after me song so please lend me your voices!”

 

That got them singing and seemed to make them all very comfortable doing it the rest of the time because they never stopped singing or interacting. After the first song I mentioned that it was fine for babies to be crawling around and that since I obviously don’t have a baby (that got a laugh–I also have never used a bear or doll for this exact reason), they can just do what I’m doing and their baby will still pick up on what’s going on. Even though they don’t look like they’re paying attention they are soaking it all up.

 

Here are the rhymes and books we did today with some links so you can see some of them in action from the awesome people in my old library system! Words to the rhymes and songs are on the rhymes page of this blog.

 

Hello Bubble

 

Penny Pointers (found this one on here)

 

Noble Duke of York

 

Book: Monkey and Me by Gravett (oh my goodness they LOVED this one, even the 3 month old was grinning the whole time)

 

Humpty Dumpty

 

Have You Ever Seen a Baby?

 

Andy Pandy, Sugar and Candy

 

Let’s Go Riding on an Elevator

 

Book: Whose Toes are Those?

 

Scarves: Where is Baby? and Mix a Pancake

 

Icky Bicky Soda Cracker (slightly different version here)

 

Parachute: These are the Colors Over You and Peek-a-Boo

 

Tick Tock

 

Goodbye Bubbles

Splish Splash with more bubbles

 

Playtime and talk time!!!!

 

If the rest of the year goes this well this will be one very happy librarian!

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

3 thoughts on “Baby Storytime: Back in the Groove

  1. Yahoo!!! I am grinning all the way over here in Denver. Great job setting the stage for all those kids and parents!

  2. Finally!! I remember talking with you about your frustration with baby story time over the summer and I’m so glad to see that you are having better luck. I know you’ll start to get some great responses from parents once they see how much fun their kids have!

Leave a Reply

