Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

eStorytime

4 Comments

All this talk on alsc-l, ALSC blog, and LOTS of other blogs about using digital content and devices in storytime have gotten me thinking about ways to incorporate digital media, or at least tips relating to it, into storytime. The trouble I keep running in to is I do storytime for babies and toddlers. All the messages and information I can think of to spew at parents is all “No, no, no!” and that is NOT the negative kind of energy I want to have in storytime. I DO want them to know the cautions and research in regards to young children and screens, but I DON’T want them to feel as though I’m lecturing them.

So far my ideas for incorporating digital media:

-simply using the projector to broadcast words to the songs on the wall (I already do this with lyrics on paper hanging on the wall)

-project the cover of the book we’re reading while I read it

-project real-life images of things related to the book I read while reading (e.g. a dump truck while reading Tip, Tip, Dig, Dig by Emma Garcia)

-ditto with songs (e.g. a bus while singing wheels on the bus)

That’s not much folks!

Do any of you incorporate digital media in toddler storytime? Baby storytime? If so, what do you do?

Do you see a benefit for doing these things with toddlers and babies? Besides providing information about using media with kids?

I’m really hoping to generate some practical conversation on the topic. I’ve heard so much on the philosophical end and now I’m left with a happy brain and the question, “But HOW?”

There’s a lot out there about using tech in storytimes with older kids (mostly K and up) but I can’t seem to find much for the wee ones. I want to know what you are all doing and what works and doesn’t, or whether you think I’m just plain crazy for even thinking about doing something with toddlers.

So, PLEASE share!

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

4 thoughts on “eStorytime

  1. I don’t know if you have access to an iphone/ipad (I don’t!) but I LOVE Anna’s idea at Future Librarian Superhero to use a free farm animal app to add animal sounds to a cute rhyme with puppets. http://futurelibrariansuperhero.blogspot.com/2012/08/here-is-house-using-ipad-in-storytime.html

  2. I think your ideas for incorporating iPads into storytimes for toddlers and babies will work wonderfully. I don’t have much experience using iPads with those age groups yet (and everything I read tells me not to). When I do use iPads in storytime (which is rarely), it’s with my preschool crowd. Occasionally there will be a toddler or two in my preschool storytime, and I’ve found that they either really, really get into the iPad app that I’m using (a little too into it), or they just stare blankly at it. I’ve also found that most iBooks are just too long for toddlers (and even some of my preschoolers).

    One thing you could try is to download a doodling/drawing app for a drawing story. I use Doodlecast for Kids by Tickle Tap Apps, but there are loads of drawing apps (some free some not).

    Here are a few mommy blog posts that I found on iPad apps for toddlers and babies. I haven’t really looked into most of these apps, but I’m thinking that these are best used on a one on one setting instead of in storytime. And I would argue that some of these apps would be better for older kids as opposed to younger. Still, thought I’d pass it on:

    http://www.poopwhisperer.com/2012/02/guest-post-ipad-apps-for-toddlers.html

    http://www.plainvanillamom.com/2012/06/five-fun-apps-for-babies.html

    • Thanks for the ideas! And I just peeked at your blog to see if you’d written about using the iPad with preschoolers and YAY, you did! I’ll be passing your blog on to the preschool storytimer here. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

