Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Break Time

2 Comments

Back in May I asked how you all felt about storytime breaks. It was the first time I’d been glad to go on break and wondered if I was alone in ever hating breaks. Turns out, everyone who commented liked their breaks.  Now, after 4 months of storytimes, I’m SO glad for the break. I’m so firmly planted on the YES TO STORYTIME BREAK side I can scarcely believe it. This break is going to rejuvenate me which will make me a better storytime provider for my patrons.

Since I don’t have any storytime outlines to blog, I thought I’d share what I plan to accomplish over the three week break (besides eating and laughing way too much with family and friends).

To Do List:

-new rhymes and songs for storytimes (and change up the iPod playlist)

-write some outlines for storytimes

-create new rhyme sheets

-come up with at least 10 activities for after toddler storytime

-put books on hold to review for possible use in storytime

-schedule some blogs

-work on Public Awareness Committee stuff

-write a proposal for a music collection, either through OverDrive, or physical

-clean off my desk/organize cabinets

-clean baby and toddler toys

-catch up on some collection maintenance

 

Hope I can get it all done! Have a feeling 3 weeks is going to fly by!! What do your break to do lists look like?

Help me out by telling me about your favorite rhymes, songs, flannels, fingerplays, and books for babies and toddlers!

 

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

2 thoughts on “Break Time

  1. I am glad you’ve come around on being pro-breaks. I know they keep me from burning out entirely!

    BTW, our experience with using OverDrive for music has not been great. We are starting Freegal in the new year. I’ll have to post about what our experience with them goes like. I still can’t believe your library doesn’t have a CD collection! Ours isn’t super popular, but people appreciate it exists. It’s overdue for a weed, so I’ll have to get on that.

    • I’m mostly gunning for OverDrive because they won’t even consider physical CDs. We already have Freegal and the children’s selection is pretty terrible. There are maybe 4 artists I’d recommend to patrons for kids tunes. 😦
      They are glad for the Wiggles and Berkner, but that’s about it. But do let me know whatever you’ve got about OverDrive! And go weed! 😉

Leave a Reply

