Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Flannel Friday: Mommy, Where Are You?

8 Comments

Our system doesn’t carry Mommy, Where Are You? by Leonid Gore and isn’t purchasing it. SO-it obviously had to be flannelized.

Here’s Ozzy, poor little guy who can’t find his Mommy. He’s also pretty sad about not having arms (sorry kid, I’m just not that good), but his nose has glitter so we’re even.

photo(3)I find this book to be a little long for toddlers, so for the flannel I skipped some of the things Ozzy finds on his search to Mommy and changed some things to suit my artistic skills.

Where is my Mommy? Let’s help Ozzy find his mommy. Could she be behind one of these things?

photo(2)With preschoolers I would have made the bunny smaller, but it’s fine for toddlers. If they guessed it was a bunny I’d be SO proud of them!

Mommy was behind the blue square! Hooray!

photo(4)There was a tiny puff paint explosion which gave Mommy quite the black eye. Fingers crossed none of the kids notice?

My plan is to read the book one week and the next week do the flannel. We’ll just go to each object and say “Is Mommy behind the rock (or whatever)?” “That’s not Mommy! What is that? It’s a worm!”

Keep going until you find Mommy. I imagine you could even turn this in to a guessing game like Little Mouse, Little Mouse and let the kids pick which item to look behind.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

8 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Mommy, Where Are You?

  1. We all love the guessing games ~ jane

  2. I don’t know the book (our system doesn’t have it either) but love your flannel and the activities you suggest.

    • The book has a lot more and has flaps to allow the kids to guess. If you can get your hands on a copy, it’s a good one for toddlers and young preschoolers. πŸ™‚

  3. I love that you can see the pieces behind the pieces for this guessing game. It is great for my toddlers. (Love the squirrel behind the tree).

    • Glad you like that part! I almost just made colored squares to cover the animals up and then remember I’m working with toddlers. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m going to have to see if we have this book in my system — it sounds wonderful! And I love it as a flannelboard.

    Your mouse is so cute he has no need of arms!

Leave a Reply

