Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Tiny Tots Storytime: Holy 1 year olds, Batman!

4 Comments

There were 70!! people in storytime today. And we turned a couple of families away. 😦 Darn occupancy! I kind of think babies shouldn’t have to count in the head count just so we could squeeze a few more in. I just feel so bad turning them away!

New Welcome Spiel:

Good morning, my name is Kendra and welcome to Tiny Tots storytime, a storytime for one year olds. I know a few of you have older children and that is fine, just please keep an extra close eye on them so they don’t knock down the little guys. Safety is very important with this many people in the room. A couple of things before we start: please turn off your cell phones and save any grown up conversations until after storytime. Please sing along with me and you’ll get bonus points for dancing and moving along, too! It’s fun to see you guys being silly me! 🙂

Hello Bubbles

Hands Are Clapping

Two Little Blackbirds (regular, on our shoulders, quiet)

Book: Wake Up, Me! by Marni McGee

Cover Art for Wake up, me!

Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes

Penny Pointers

Book: Clap Hands by Helen Oxenbury (the updated versions are white, not yellow, FYI)

Cover Art for Clap hands

Parachute!

Practice shaking so the kids get used to being on top of the chute. Shake fast, slow, fast, slow until they all look comfortable and parents are with you.

These are the Colors Over You (only we said under today)

Ten Little Bubbles (we’ve done this before so parents really got in to it!)

Book: Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star by Jane Cabrera

Cover Art for Twinkle, twinkle, little star

Now I tell parents about the activity and ask them to start taking their kids of the chute while we sing the Goodbye Bubbles song. That way by the end of the Splish Splash the chute is off the floor so they can easily get to the activity tables. It works really well for me.

Goodbye Bubbles

Splish Splash by Bobby Darin

Activity: stamp art (and markers for extra doodling fun and to write names on artwork)

Check out these masterpieces!

stampart

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

4 thoughts on “Tiny Tots Storytime: Holy 1 year olds, Batman!

  1. I love that you use art during your storytime. I am the baby storytime storyteller at my library, and I am a big fan of ending storytime with a craft. My babies range from birth to 23 months, so I don’t do a craft every week, but I try to do at least one or two every storytime cycle. I’ve done painting with marshmallows, handprint flowers, and sand art with shakers. I haven’t decided what to do this time around, though. Typically, I end my storytimes with a little social exploration time.

    • Sounds fun! Our prewalkers session ends with playtime/social time instead of any art or other activity. Bet those handprint flowers are too adorable!

  2. How many babies do you get in each session? Are they on the same day?

    • Baby storytimes (prewalkers) are on Monday at 9:30 and 10:30. I get between 20 and 40 people at each, so 10-20 babies. For Tiny Tots (1yr olds) I get about 70 people. We only have one session for one year olds followed by a session for two year olds at 10:30 on Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

