Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

I Resolve to Rock in 2015

1 Comment

The challenge was given at Storytime Underground, to set professional goals for 2015. So, here goes!

Resolve to Rock meme image

This year, my resolutions are more about continuing in-progress goals. Because my career is very personal to me, most of these goals involve my whole self-personal and professional.

Confidence

Building my confidence in myself has been an ongoing struggle for the past few years. Due to my tendency to try and please everyone, I have, in the past allowed others to walk all over me. Reminding myself continually that I am an intelligent, thoughtful woman who does, in fact, know what she is doing (or is wiling to learn) has helped me gather my courage to boldly go forth in many new endeavors from writing to presenting to programming. Having an amazing professional support system doesn’t hurt either, especially when I slip back to doubting myself (THANK YOU, ALL OF YOU).

Balance

Though I have loved the time spent on Storytime Underground and Storytime University, presenting, writing, and working, I am continuing to find a good balance between professional interests and personal ones. Part of this is due to my nature to always strive to be the best I can be. Realizing I can be the best children’s librarian for my community without needing to be known in the profession or taking away from my personal life. This year I’d like to spend more time traveling, hiking, and enjoying my family and that may mean less time working on professional development, or maybe the next and final resolution will fix this predicament.

Organization

Being raised by my extremely organized mother, one might think I would have learned something about being super organized. Alas, I hate planners and tend to rely more on sticky notes and memory. As I get older and busier, that last one has not proven to be so reliable as it once was. So, I’ve been working really hard to find an organization system that works for me. So far, a digital calendar tied to my email has been huge, as well as setting up my google calendar to alert me before things are due. Still, these options rely on my actually inputting the data so it isn’t 100% working yet. This year is the year!

So those are the three biggies for me this year. Along with some personal goals for a healthier lifestyle, it’s looking like a busy and productive year ahead.

Can’t wait to share with you all (part of getting organized will include more regular posts here)!

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

One thought on “I Resolve to Rock in 2015

  1. Pingback: Resolve To Rock Roundup! | Storytime Underground

Leave a Reply

