Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

When Someone Steals Your Storytime Bag

Leave a comment

Never thought I’d be talking about scrambling to put together a storytime because someone stole my storytime stuff. But, it happened this week. On Fridays I present storytime in a different branch than the one where I usually live. So, on Wednesdays I pack all the stuff I’ll need into a bag and take it home with me. This way I can just start my day in the other library. This Wednesday, I left this bag in the front seat of my truck, which was parked on the street in front of our house. We live in a pretty urban area with lots of foot traffic and plenty of transient population scavenging in garbage bins and so on. One of those folks must have spied the bag and acted. When I went to the truck in the morning the driver side door was slightly open (sometimes the seat belt gets in a spot where the door doesn’t close completely but the alarm fob will still beep like it locked it-we’re guessing this is what happened) and my storytime bag and all it’s contents were nowhere to be found. Well, crap.

The loose plan for the storytime was to share some of the books in the bag (Dancing Feet by Lindsey Craig, If You’re Happy and You Know It by Jane Cabrera, Children Make Terrible Pets by Peter Brown, and This Book Just Ate My Dog! by Richard Byrne), blow bubbles, play Little Mouse, Little Mouse Are You in the ____ House?, and play with the parachute. None of this was going to happen.

While I drove to the library wondering what I’d be able to find to pull off storytime, I briefly considered going book-less like Mel talks about, but alas, I couldn’t think of a darn story to tell and I was in such a yucky mood it just didn’t feel right. Luckily, the branch had lots of great titles to choose from.

unnamed

And in the closet I found miracle bubbles (a poor substitute for Gymboree and really I should have just skipped them) and some finger puppets. They don’t have any other props in that branch so the parachute will have to wait until next time (if I can remember where I put my personal one!).

I have super cute nametag stickers, too, which were also in the bag. So, back to basics with scrap paper and tape.

nametags

My mix CD’s were also taken but Barenaked Ladies to the rescue (never thought I’d say THAT!).

cd

So, we ended up reading Bear Snores On by karma wilson. Big Fat Hen by Keith Baker, and Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star by Jane Cabrera. In between books we pretended to be popcorn and popped around the room to the Popcorn song on the album above. Then we were Jack in the Boxes and popped ourselves up instead of scarves. We made some Fruit Salad and Rowed our boats to see some animals friends.

In the end, it was a huge success! They missed Little Mouse, but I promised he’d be back next week and he will because… the bag was found! Thanks to my husband for scouring the neighborhood before asking across the street at the school. The Dean found the stuff and was drying it in his office. Most it’s contents were remaining. The parachute, storytime glove from Cory (WAAAAAAAHHH!!!!), nametags, CD’s, and my bestest water bottle are gone forever. You better be using the crap out of those things, thief!

B8DZg4wCYAAbl3G.jpg large

Moral of the story, thieves suck, and flexibility really IS the best skill to have where storytime is concerned.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

Leave a Reply

