Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Direct Service to Support Service

4 Comments

It has been almost 6 months since I made the move from Children’s Librarian to Coordinator. I have no idea where the time went. It obviously wasn’t spent contributing to this blog! Now that my job no longer includes regular storytimes (OMG I am still in denial about this fact) or regular programs of any kind, my contributions to this blog may be rarer, and more focused on other kinds of work.

 

When I made this leap I honestly thought it was going to be no big deal. How different could it be? I’ve been working in this field long enough, how hard can it be? Let me tell you, friends. It can be real hard. Also really rewarding, but in a completely different way than storytimes and successful interactions with patrons.

 

Currently, these are the changes that have been the hardest:

-not talking to kids everyday

-no storytime

-being in the administrative building which means being part of what staff in every library system love to hate

-toeing the line (I’m not doing this one very successfully, to be honest) when requested

-encouraging change without being able to mandate it (not that I want to dictate anything, but sometimes change is necessary but not everyone understands that)

-balancing the needs and interests of an extremely eclectic staff in 27 very different libraries, while also guiding youth services as a whole based on current research and in a way that will ensure the success of our staff and the youth in our communities

-handling the millions of tiny requests that come in everyday. Seriously, I thought it would be the large projects that would make me a nervous wreck, but its actually the smaller things because those are the ones that make a big difference to individual staff. Dropping those balls is the absolute worst and makes me feel like poop.

Pair all of this with a bad case of impostor syndrome* and you have one stress ball librarian! Writing about it is helping. So, if these kinds of posts are not your thing, skip the next few entries. 🙂

Buying Storytime Underground swag has also been helping (turn the filter off if you want shirts with swears. Shirts with swears are the best.) Plus, proceeds are going to the Spectrum Scholarship so YAY! Shopping for a good cause!

*Not looking for a pity party, I’ll get over it. Self doubt and overwhelming anxiety suck. A lot. As most of you already know.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

4 thoughts on “Direct Service to Support Service

  1. Kendra, I completely and 100% hear you, understand, and agree. It took me a while to accept that the job I am doing now is just as important as the Youth Services librarian job I was doing… and I still miss many aspects of that. Hang in there– sending you a big de-stress hug.

  2. Thank you so very much for being so open about this change. It’s never fun to share the rougher/tougher aspects of our jobs – and it’s truly appreciated. Rock on, lady! ::high five::

Leave a Reply

