Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Guerrilla Storytime @ ALA 2013

4 Comments

On Friday and Saturday (and Monday, too!) of the American Library Association conference in Chicago dozens of youth (and some non youth) librarians gathered in the Uncommons to share storytime favorites, advice, and laughter. The Uncommons was near registration and in a pretty visible area so throughout Guerrilla Storytime people were stopping to peer through the glass window panes of the makeshift room. A baby even made an appearance!

For the story of how Guerrilla Storytime came to be (Thank You, Cory, for sharing your awesome idea!) check Amy’s excellent post on The Show Me Librarian. Mel, Rachel, and Julie have great posts as well. I am absolutely going to be advocating for doing this at local library conferences. Hopefully folks in my area will be interested in being storytime guerrillas!

Because eloquence is NOT my forte here’s a report on Guerrilla Storytime in pictures and videos.

Video Links:

Popcorn rhyme!

Shake what your mama gave you! AND Fruit Salad song: Angie on the shaking and Anna on Fruit Salad

Tons of great stuff here with Cate and Mel and Rick and Sara and tons of others!

image-4 image-3 image-2 image-1 image-8 image-9 image-10 image image-7 image-6 image-5

BEST part of any conference EVER. It WILL be happening again.

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

4 thoughts on “Guerrilla Storytime @ ALA 2013

  1. How cute are all these people?! ADORABLE. I’m so sad I wasn’t there. I don’t know what I was thinking. We are pitching Guerilla Storytime as a ConverStation for PLA, so hopefully we can make it happen again soon!

  2. Do we know who the woman in the green flowered (paisley?) shirt is? I love her and I can’t find her business card and don’t remember her name, because I suck. Is she at Multnomah? Maybe I’ll ask Kirby. Help!

Leave a comment