Read Sing Play

Adventures in early literacy

Baby Storytime: Eyebrows, Mustaches, Oh My!

12 Comments

So a couple week ago I saw this posted on Facebook (here’s another). I shared it, commenting that it probably wouldn’t be ok in baby storytime, but Angela and Josie urged me to do it. So, I did it. And this is what happened.

Today was the last storytime before our 2 week break. I like to do favorites for the last one everytime and not only did I learn a new one, that is definitely going into the regular rotation this summer, but heard lots of their favorites from this Spring. Smooth Road, Itsy Bitsy, The Elevator Song, Andy Pandy, Icky Bicky, Head Shoulders Knees and Toes, Giddyap, Choppity Chop, Toast in the Toaster, and the Merry Go Round song (these are all on the Rhymes page).

So, we sang, we rhymed (and used our fingers for pre-writing skills!), we read, and we talked. But what about play? Oh, we played.

This is what I had out, plus two containers of wipes (we use Huggies). I tested the markers and oil pastels on myself first and tried wiping it off with a wipe. They both came off really easily so I shared this tidbit with parents, obviously. As Lisa suggested, you could also use tub crayons. Or face paint crayons if you have them.

BoApc_gIAAAvSaE

After we sang our goodbye bubbles song they went to town. I was really surprised by how enthusiastic they were about this activity! One dad has been begging his wife to let him draw on their daughter. She’s been able to hold him off until today. How could she say no to the children’s librarian? She couldn’t. My power is great.

The results:

20140519_110454 20140519_110426 20140519_110353 20140519_100456 20140519_100243 (1) 20140519_100015 (1) 20140519_095951 Picture1 20140519_110554 20140519_110518

I especially love this last guy. He was obviously not as amused as the rest of us. Also, the wiggliest baby there ever was. 🙂

 

Author: Kendra

Children's Librarian in the Northwest. Lover of toddlers, twitter, and TV (T's, too, apparently!).

12 thoughts on “Baby Storytime: Eyebrows, Mustaches, Oh My!

  1. You’re my hero…

  2. Totally made my day. Just awesome!

  3. My she-ro!

  4. OMG I cannot believe you did this. I didn’t know I could love you even more.

  5. Pretty much the most fun thing I’ve seen in a long time.

    Also? “How could she say no to the children’s librarian? She couldn’t. My power is great.” I chuckled out loud.

  6. Pingback: Baby Art in a Bag and Sensory Hoops | Read Sing Play

  7. Pingback: Did You Know This is Advocacy? Early Literacy Programs - ALSC Blog

  8. Pingback: PAGES TO PROJECTS: Color Tamer Face Drawing | Library as Incubator Project

Leave a comment